To win the Cal South State Cup Presidents Division, the path chosen may not always work the first time. Especially when one is facing some of the best 110 teams in Southern California.

On the first weekend of action for the Presidents Youngers Division, Soltilo FC didn’t earn the results that they had worked for in the past 15 months, drawing in their first match, and falling 2-0 to the eventual group leader Inter-America Academy.

On the following day, Soltilo began to get their groove back, and from then on, no one would stop them, not even Barcelona Cantera Escondido, who with one sole goal, was defeated for the Cal South Presidents Division Championship.

“It means a lot, it’s not easy,” said Soltilo coach Mariano Trujillo. “There’s a lot of teams fighting for the first place and thank God we were able to do it. It’s outstanding because we’ve just been together for a year or a little more than a year. The commitment of the kids and the parents, it really means a lot.”

Soltilo FC will have to maintain their commitment and continue working hard as they have a bigger challenge ahead, to conquer the 2018 US Youth Soccer Far West Presidents Cup Championship. In the tournament that will take place in Salt Lake City, Soltilo FC, along with all Cal South State Cup Presidents Division Champions in the 13U to 18U age groups, will face the top teams from all 13 western states.

“It’s going to be harder,” said coach Trujillo. “Just to have champions there, it’s not easy and it requires more commitment from all the players, parents, coaches, but we’re liking [the challenge]. We’re going to follow the plan and if the victory is coming along with the plan, we’ll be happy. But if not, we know the players are going to learn something out there.”

Follow Soltilo and all Cal South teams heading to Salt Lake City this June through its social media channels including FacebookTwitterInstagram and follow us on Snapchat: @CalSouthSoccer.

The following is a photo slideshow of the Presidents Youngers Champions & Finalists:
2018 State Cup Presidents Division Championships (12U-14U)