The California State Soccer Association – South (Cal South) is a 501c(3) California public benefit corporation and is the official youth and adult state soccer association of the United States Soccer FederationUS Youth Soccer, and the United States Adult Soccer Association. The organization, with a service area that extends from San Luis Obispo to San Diego, provides rewarding recreational and competitive opportunities for players of all ages, genders and skill levels.

  • 211 Affiliate Member Leagues and Clubs across Southern California
  • 5,000 Referees
  • 6,000+ Youth and Adult Soccer Teams
  • 7,000 Coaches
  • 103,000+ Youth and Adult Soccer Players
  • 240,000+ Active Family Households

Our goal is to have one million players, coaches, referees and administrators by 2027. In fulfillment of our Mission, we will provide opportunities for growth, development, and advancement through innovative programming and leadership that embraces all skill levels and all formats of the game.

Cal South’s Mission is to advance and improve soccer.

Respect | Diversity | Equity | Inclusion | Belonging

A History of Excellence

In 1974, at the Annual General Meeting of the United States Soccer Federation (USSF), Don Greer and others established the United States Youth Soccer Association (USYSA). At that time, USYSA was the youth division of the USSF and was incorporated later in 1984. In discussions with Norm Nielsen, Greer expressed the desire to start youth soccer associations in their own right. With this encouragement, Mr. Nielsen helped establish CAL SOUTH under the USSF/USYSA affiliation with 5,000 players. Four charter organizations comprised the fledgling association: Coast Soccer League Juniors, Pacific Soccer League Juniors, Golden State Soccer League, and West Valley Soccer League.

In 1976, the Association grew to 8,500 when leagues from San Diego County joined, and by 1977, there were some 11,000 players in Los Angeles and San Diego counties. We grew to 15,000 players by 1978 and to 26,000 players in 1979, adding Orange County to the membership. Along the way, members were added in Ventura, Santa Barbara, Riverside, San Bernardino, and later Imperial, Kern and San Luis Obispo counties.

The year 1979 saw the incorporation of Cal South, and by 1980 the membership had grown to 32,000 players. By 1990 membership had grown to 62,000 players. Throughout the ’90s, interest in youth soccer continued to accelerate (encouraged in part by the 1994 World Cup) so much that, by 2000, the Cal South membership was at 96,000 players. Cal South continues to bring in new affiliate member leagues and clubs — over 280 in all through fall 2012 — with a current total membership of around 156,000 players, both youth and adult playing on over 11,000 registered teams. Cal South also has over 30,000 coaches, administrators, and referees in its registered membership.

From its initial establishment in 1974, the annual operation budget for the Association has grown from less than about $25,000 to its current level of $3 million. Also, the necessity for a state office was realized and was first established in District 5 in June 1978, where it remained for four years. Prior to that, an administrative office was maintained in the home of Hope Weaver, Cal South Office Manager. In November 1982, the office was moved to a new facility in Anaheim, and remained in Anaheim until 1999, when the Association purchased its current 6,500 square foot facility in Fullerton.

Cal South Presidents:

Roy Carlson | February 2021 – May 2022
Bob Turner | April 2020 to February 2021
Cindy Quan
| February 2018 to April 2020
Derek Barraza
 | February 2014 to February 2018
John Mullen | February 2013 to February 2014
Johnnie Garza | February 2010 to February 2013
Gregg Falk | October 2005 to February 2010
Rod Short | March 2000 to October 2005
Ray Horspool | 1996 to March 2000
John Harper | 1990 to 1996
Lee Ann Harris | 1988 to 1990
Roz Houser | 1986 to 1988
Reg Banks | June 1982 to 1986
Rod Chambers | June 1981 to June 1982
Gil Oftedal | June 1980 to June 1981
Becky Sheridan | February 1980 to June 1980
Gary Patton | June 1979 to February 1980
Norm Nielsen
 | December 1977 to June 1979